What is a Suspended/Exempt Vehicle on a Form 2290?

Hello there Truckers, the Annual HVUT Form 2290 is now due for a renewal for the Period beginning July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2020. But, almost on a daily basis we receive calls from our users asking how or where to report their vehicles exactly on the Form 2290, but in reality the Form 2290 is way simpler to understand.

As per the IRS guidelines, the vehicles which are reported on the Form 2290 are classified into 3 types as follows:

  1. Taxable Vehicles:
  2. Suspended/Exempt Vehicles
  3. Logging vehicles:

Taxable vehicles:

These are vehicles, perhaps called active units which are used over 5000 miles on the road for a respective 2290 tax period. For instance, considering the current period July 1st, 2019 through June 30th, 2020 if your truck will be used over 5000 miles, you must report this vehicle under Taxable vehicles and pay the tax due to the IRS full in advance to the IRS.

Suspended/Exempt vehicles:

These are vehicles which are tend to be used under the desired mileage limit for exemption, (5000 miles for Commercial based units) and (7500 miles for Agricultural based units) which makes the vehicles exempt from paying taxes to the IRS. However, the Form 2290 must be filed on these vehicles though to claim the exemption. Generally the Suspended/Exempt vehicles are represented by the category “W”

Logging Vehicles:

These are vehicles that are primarily been used to haul wood and its derivatives from the Forest to the City using the public highway. These vehicles are not exempt from paying taxes although there is a concession/reduction of tax due amount versus a Commercial taxable vehicles.

Hence, next time be sure of knowing under which category your truck must be reported while e-filing the HVUT Form 2290. Reach our tax experts @ (347) 515-2290 for your Form 2290 filing needs.